The Town of Thompson’s Station is governed by a Board of Mayor and Aldermen, with day-to-day operations overseen by a town administrator. Citizen panels provide input and direction to staff and the Board of Mayor and Aldermen. The panels include the:
The Board of Mayor and Alderman (BOMA) is comprised of 5 elected officials: the mayor and 4 Town aldermen. The Board is responsible for establishing Town policies and procedures by considering and passing ordinances and/or resolutions that, in turn, are implemented by appropriate Town departments.

Planning Commission
The Planning Commission (PC) makes decisions regarding vision, growth, development and zoning for Thompson’s Station in accordance with the Town’s adopted Comprehensive Plan and Zoning Ordinance.

Design Review Commission
The Design Review Commission (DRC) applies approved design guidelines to all new developments and redevelopments to ensure elements such as livability, visual impact, landscaping and mobility, etc. are incorporated into projects in such fashion as to preserve the character and appeal of Thompson's Station.