News Flash Home
The original item was published from 9/26/2019 10:27:27 AM to 10/9/2019 12:34:44 PM.

News Flash

TS Announcements

Posted on: September 26, 2019

[ARCHIVED] Burn Bans issued for multiple counties and cities in Tennessee


State Agriculture Commissioner Charlie Hatcher has issued a burn ban for Marion, Robertson, Rutherford, Sequatchie, Smith, Sumner, Wilson, and Van Buren counties and multiple cities in Williamson County have stopped issuing burn permits including Brentwood and Spring Hill. This burn ban will remain in place until further notice. 

•The ban applies to all open-air burning including leaf and woody debris and construction burning, campfires and other fire activity outside of municipalities where local ordinances apply.

•Under state law, the commissioner of agriculture, in consultation with the state forester, has the authority to issue burn bans at the request of county mayors under certain weather conditions. Requests from county mayors for a burn ban are considered in consultation with the State Forester based on a number of factors including weather, climate, fire danger and occurrence and resource availability.

•A violation of a Commissioner of Agriculture imposed burn ban is considered reckless burning and is punishable as a Class A misdemeanor which carries a fine of $2,500 and/or up to 11 months 29 days in jail.

Go to for up-to-date information on the State Burn Ban.

WSMV News Burn Ban Article
Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in TS Announcements