News Flash Home
The original item was published from 10/9/2019 12:34:00 PM to 12/1/2019 12:00:02 AM.

News Flash

TS Announcements

Posted on: September 26, 2019

[ARCHIVED] Burn Bans lifted for middle Tennessee counties


This information applies only to a Commissioner of Agriculture Burn Ban. Please check with your county or city for additional restrictions that may apply.
Counties not listed under the ban require a safe debris burning permit now through May 15, 2020 from the Tennessee Department of Agriculture (TDA) Division of Forestry (exceptions: Davidson, Knox, Madison and Shelby, which never allow debris burning). Permits will only be issued where and when it is determined to be safe to do so.
Printable map

Updated October 7, 2019 @ 4:15 pm CT
Declared: Franklin, Marion, Sequatchie, and Van Buren.
Rescinded: Robertson, Rutherford, Smith, Sumner, and Wilson

Working with county officials, State Agriculture Commissioner Charlie Hatcher has issued a burn ban for Franklin, Marion, Sequatchie, and Van Buren. The burn ban is effective immediately and will remain in place until further notice.

The ban applies to all open-air burning including leaf and woody debris and construction burning, campfires, outdoor grills and other fire activity in areas outside of municipalities where local ordinances apply.

Under state law, the Commissioner of Agriculture, in consultation with the state forester, has the authority to issue burn bans at the request of county mayors under certain weather conditions. Requests for a burn ban are considered based on a number of factors including weather, climate, fire danger, fire occurrence and resource availability.

A violation of a burn ban issued by the Commissioner is considered reckless burning and is punishable as a Class A misdemeanor which carries a fine of $2,500 and/or up to 11 months 29 days in jail

Go to for up-to-date information on Burn Bans and Burn Permits.

WSMV News Burn Ban Article
Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in TS Announcements